What You Need To Know About Getting a Texas Liquor License

Estimated read time 3 min read

Are you thinking about opening a bar or restaurant in Texas? Then you may want to consider getting a liquor license. Selling booze is an easy way for a business to make money. That’s because the profit margins for alcohol can be 70 to 80 percent.

It is not just restaurant and bar owners who need a liquor license Dallas TX. A license is required for any event that sells alcoholic beverages. Before you start the application process, there are some things you should know.

Meeting the License Requirements

You must be at least 21 years old to get a liquor license in Texas. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission has certain other minimum requirements, as well. The applicant cannot have any felony convictions from the previous five years. Anyone who has violated state liquor laws within the past two years or had moral turpitude liquor law violations within the previous six months is also ineligible for a license.

Choosing the Correct License

There are various different types of liquor licenses available in Texas.  For instance, a BE license allows you to sell beer for consumption but not for resale. A BF license, meanwhile, lets you sell beer direct to the consumer in a lawful container as long as the alcohol is not meant to be consumed on the premises.

Once you figure out which license you want, you can fill out the forms you need to obtain that license. Keep in mind that the state could take several months to approve your application.

Paying for Your License

The cost varies based on the type of license you are getting. If you just need a temporary permit for an event, you may only have to pay $25. However, large alcohol manufacturers may have to pay up to $17,000. The average liquor license in the United States costs approximately $1,400.

Losing Your License

Once you receive your liquor license, there is no guarantee that you will keep it. If you violate state regulations, you could receive a fine. Multiple fines may get your business shut down for good. Undercover officers from the TABC may stop by unannounced to check for potential problems. The most common violations include serving alcohol to minors, selling alcohol during unauthorized time periods and giving alcohol to overly intoxicated customers.

Before you sell or manufacture alcohol in Texas, you need to obtain a liquor license. Be sure to follow the TABC guidelines before and after you submit your application. Otherwise, your business or event could get shut down.


The writer of this article currently manages his own blog moment for life and spread happiness and is managing to do well by mixing online marketing and traditional marketing practices into one.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours